Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

In case you haven’t noticed, there is a literary challenge circling around. You basically have to list 25 bookish facts about you as a reader. It is harder than it sounds and here is my list.

  1. I got a big book collection from my grandmother, which is basically like a private library and I hope I’ll read all the books in it
  2. My book collection consists of books in Serbian, Croatian, and English
  3. When I was a kid, my favourite books were encyclopaedias and a book of Greek mythology
  4. I’m very proud to have graphic novels and comic books in my book collection, too
  5. I have zero patience for contemporary YA series that are not Harry Potter
  6. I grew up reading the Harry Potter series, I’ve watched all the movies, and apparently, I’m a Slytherin
  7. My favourite Harry Potter books are The Chamber of Secrets and The Half-Blood Prince, because they both go in depth about Voldemort’s background and Dark Arts
  8. Sometimes I feel guilty that I still prefer paper copies over electronic ones, because I’m very into taking care of the environment
  9. My favourite book is The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
  10. My favourite graphic novel is Watchmen by Alan Moore
  11. When I’m watching a book to movie adaptation, I usually don’t care if it differs from the book
  12. I’m definitely more impressed by Tolkien as a philologist and a lore creator than as a writer
  13. If someone tells me the whole plot of a book, I don’t care, I’ll read it anyway
  14. My favourite writers include Douglas Adams, J. K. Rowling, Virginia Woolf, Branko Ćopić, Dušan Radović, Hans Christian Andersen, and Sophocles, in no particular order
  15. I like to read in bed
  16. When I start reading a book, I can’t leave it until I’m done, but then I regret reading it so fast
  17. For whatever reason, I cry every time I read Mala moja iz Bosanske Krupe by Branko Ćopić
  18. When I was in high school, I read the entirety of both Iliad and Odyssey, after my mother insisted on me doing it
  19. Since I was a kid, I’ve loved Greek mythology and Ancient Greek literature, as well as mythologies of other cultures
  20. As a reader, I appreciate characters more than the plot itself
  21. I absolutely fall hardest for the flawed characters
  22. I prefer reading in solitude
  23. My favourite genres are gothic, science fiction, fantasy, but I can read basically anything
  24. I find it hard to read the same book twice
  25. The best reading experiences were the ones when I read books for which I had no expectations whatsoever

 

