Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

On Saturday, the third literary workshop was held, and it was a bit different than the ones before. We wrote again, but this time we concentrated on a  specific form and genre, drama. It was interesting to try something new, since I’ve never seriously tried to write drama before. We also spoke about our preferences in theatre and cinema. Personally, I like theatre only when it involves opera or ballet, as I am not into plays. The reason for it I find in the fact that I was firstly introduced with film, and since then, nothing could compare to it for me. It does not mean that I don’t respect plays, it’s simply not what I would go for.

The main assignment was to right a drama piece based on the cards and theme that we got by random selection. There were some really good ideas that others wrote and read, and as far my writing is considered, I think that it seemed more like a script for a movie, than something that could be performed on stage.

Towards the end of this week’s workshop, we wrote 2nd person perspective story and then discussed what should happen after this project. We only have one more workshop left, however, the organizers feel like that should not be the end of it. Currently, there are talks  to design a blog, with all the participants involved. There is also a plan to organize a literary night about the workshop. Whatever happens, information will be posted here, on my blog. For now, here is my drama text and cards that inspired my writing.

14877888_10211290985969583_392278041_n

Cards for inspiration

Night. Bus station is almost empty. The only light is coming from the guard’s cabin and neons above platforms. A woman is standing alone at platform 17. Traffic noise is heard outside the station. Suddenly, next to the woman, another one comes, older than her, with her head shaved, wearing red.

E: My name starts with E. [She turns to the woman.]

Woman: Nice to meet you. [Woman nods and turns her look away.]

E: I also know how you name starts.

Woman: Really? [Woman raises her eyebrows in surprise.]

E: Yes, really. And I know what you did. [E’s eyes turn yellow.]

Woman: I didn’t do anything wrong. [Woman shakes her shoulders and steps forward. The bus she is waiting for is still not coming. Noise outside of the station is getting quieter.]

E: I think I would not have been here if you had done something right. Such is the nature of my job.

Woman: Again, I didn’t do anything bad.

E: Again, you must have. You know, I make no differences.

Woman: I went to a hearing and I was freed. I was freed! [ Woman raises her voice and her arm and shakes through the air with her finger.]

E: They freed you, and they are easily deceived. Still, I know you did it out of anger and not self-defense. [E points with her finger at herself.]

Woman: He tortured people. And me. And puppies.

E: Why haven’t you reported him?

Woman: Oh, I have. And his mother, too.

E: And?

Woman: I was freed. Sometimes uniforms do not want to intervene. They see and know, but they let it run its course. [Woman shrugs her shoulders. The bus she is waiting for at the platform 17 is arriving. It stops at the platform.]

E: He was you brother.

Woman: Half-brother. [Woman boards the bus. She sits on her seat. E follows her and sits next to her.]

E: I don’t make a difference. I have to warn you, I’ve brought some people to suicide.

Woman: Now, I’m ready for anything. [Woman puts headsets in her ears and plays the music. Outside noise is completely gone. Woman turns to E.] You may start screaming.

